Hi there

Thanks for stopping by. On this page, I'll tell you a bit about myself.

I was born in the year of the horse (according to the Chinese calendar). The following events occured that year:

  • Astronomer James Christy discovers Charon, the only known satellite of Pluto.
  • The Solomon Islands and Dominica become independent from the United Kingdom.
  • Argentina beat the Netherlands to win the football world cup.
  • 'The Deer Hunter' wins the Best Picture Academy Award.
  • Mohamed Anwar al-Sadat (Egypt) and Menachem Begin (Israel) share the Nobel peace price.

    The exact day I was born coincides with the following events in history:

  • 1752: Gregorian calendar adopted by the British empire
  • 1812: Napolean Bonaparte enters Moscow to find the enemey capital deserted and burning
  • 1901: Theodore Roosevelt becomes the 26th President of the United States
  • 1948: Groundbreaking for the United Nations headquarters in New York City
  • 1956: Egypt assumed complete control over the operation of the Suez Canal
  • 1959: Soviet Luna 2 crashes onto the Moon, becoming the first man-made object to reach it
  • 1960: Iraq, Iran, Kuwait, Saudi Arabia and Venezuela form OPEC
  • 1999: Kiribati, Nauru and Tonga join the United Nations
  • Using the above information, it shouldn't be hard to figure out when I was born. Coincidentally, on that day, Malayalees (people from the state of Kerala in India) all over the world celebrated their most famous festival Onam.

    For the first 18 years of my life, I lived in a lovely seaside town on the south-west coast of India - Cochin (or Kochi), the Queen of the Arabian Sea. If you would like to know more about my hometown, do visit my website Destination Kochi/Cochin. I moved to Singapore in the summer of 1996 for my undergraduate course. 4 years and countless sleepless nights later, I successfully completed my undergraduate course in electrical and electrical engineering with communications as the specialisation. Naturally (well, I was required to), after my studies I decided to stick around and work for a few years in Singapore. During my undergraduate years, I was quite enamoured by the IT field and did many freelance projects and a 6-month internship at an MNC. So I worked for a British e-services firm for a while and then decided to try my hand at some of the key buzz words of the early part of this century - entrepreneurship and e-business. Some of my colleagues and I set up an IT services/consulting firm in Singapore. I must say that we have been fairly successful so far. During this period, for some unknown reason, I decided to put myself under a lot more stress - I decided to study for a part-time masters in computer science. Juggling work and studies precariously, I somehow managed to complete my masters in computer science. In the summer of 2004, after 8 memorable years in Singapore, I moved halfway across the world to the United Kingdom to study for a PhD at the University of Oxford. I spent the first 15 months of my 4-PhD programme at the Life Sciences Interface Doctoral Training Centre. I moved to the Structural Bioinformatics & Computational Biochemistry Unit of the Department of Biochemistry to do my research. After completing my DPhil in September 2008, I am still sticking around in the lab for a post-doctoral stint. For my research work, using computer simulations, I study a family of protein molecules in the brain. After living in Oxford for 6 years, I launched a site for visitors to Oxford - Top 5 Oxford.

    If you managed to reach this far without nodding off, here is a bit more about me. I enjoy watching movies, favourite genres being thriller, horror and comedy. I like photography and enjoy taking pictures of nature and impressive man-made structures. You can find some of my picture galleries here. Though equipped with a Canon EOS 350D/Digital Rebel XT and a Canon IXUS 400 digital camera, someday I hope to learn more about how to really take photographs. I enjoy travelling. Someday I hope to go on a round-the-world trip, if I can spare the time for that. I love walking and try to walk as often as I can. I have really enjoyed walking all across Glasgow, Edinburgh, central London, Wales, Singapore, Rome, Melaka (Malacca), Berlin, Venice, Brussels and Paris, and I believe that walking is the best way to see a city and slowly absorb in the ambience. Sport has never been a speciality of mine. But, I like watching cricket and tennis, and play tennis and squash once in a while. I spend a lot of time on the internet both for work and pleasure. Can't imagine surviving without Internet anymore!

    I should probably stop here. I would certainly like to hear from you. Do drop me an email at or use the 'Contact Me' page.

    Have a good day.

    Ranjit Vijayan